Trinity College

Klik op een foto om naar de slideshow te gaan – slideshow: click on a picture



Trinity College (Irish: Coláiste na Tríonóide), formally known as the College of the Holy and Undivided Trinity of Queen Elizabeth near Dublin, is the sole constituent college of the University of Dublin in Ireland. The college was founded in 1592 as the “mother” of a new university, modelled after the collegiate universities of Oxford and of Cambridge, but, unlike these, only one college was ever established; as such, the designations “Trinity College” and “University of Dublin” are usually synonymous for practical purposes. It is one of the seven ancient universities of Britain and Ireland as well as Ireland’s oldest university. If you want to read more: click HERE


De Universiteit van Dublin (Iers: Ollscoil Átha Cliath, Engels: University of Dublin) is de oudste universiteit van Ierland. Anders dan de beroemde Britse universiteiten als Oxford en Cambridge bestaat de universiteit maar uit één college: Trinity College. In de praktijk geldt Trinity College dan vaak ook als synoniem voor Universiteit van Dublin. De universiteit is in 1592 opgericht door koningin Elizabeth I. Wil je meer lezen over de Trinity College Library (Book of Kells): klik HIER